NO PART OF THE FOLLOWING
MAY BE REPRODUCED WITHOUT
PERMISSION FROM THE AUTHOR ©
This park's name grew from the jut of land where Rainy Lake flows into into Rainy River. It was named after Robert Pither, a Hudson's Bay Company employee in various positions at the Fort Frances trading post in the 1850s through 1871. He was involved in the securing of treaties with local native leaders for land in the area, in part because he was able to speak their language. He was also known for his fairness and this led to agreements with other native tribes. He died in 1918 at age 89 or 90 and two years later the park was named.
It's unknown what the land was used for before the 1920s, but it's likely it was a picnic ground and swimming area. The park was owned by the town of Fort Francis and managed by their Board of Parks. It contained picnic facilities by a lake along with refreshment stands and a lunch bar. There were also at least two rides. Fireworks displays were held here on special occasions.
Today, the area is a day-use park with a beach, picnic area, and sports facilities for baseball, horseshoes, volleyball. It also boasts a recreational vehicle campground. An additional attraction is The Hallett, an 18-metre, 52-tonne retired logging boat. It came to the park in 1983 and was restored by The Fort Frances Museum.
Return to the
Closed Canadian Parks Index